My best falafel recipe

25 Feb

20120225-195508.jpg

350 g chickpeas (dry and organic)

Soak overnight (10-12 hours)

Proces in a foodprocessor with:
1-1,5 red onions
2 handfuls of parsley
3 cloves of garlic
2-3 teaspoons himalaya salt
Pepper
Pinch of cayenne
Pinch of cinnamon
2 teaspoons cumin
2 teaspoons ground coriander
1-2 dl water

Put in a bowl and add:
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 dl flour (I used spelt)
1 dl breadcrumbs

Leave for 20 min

Make into little balls (press to flatten a little bit). They should be 2,5-3 cm in diameter – and fry in sunflower oil for 5-7 min on each side.

Serv with salad:
Parsley
Cucumber
Tomato
Red onion
Icerberg
Chives

Dressing:
Sour cream
Chives – finely chopped
Lemon
Salt and pepper
Mustard
Mayo

20120225-200543.jpg

3 Responses to “My best falafel recipe”

  1. Allison November 2, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Sounds great! Just curious– why do you use sunflower oil for this dish? Do you think it makes for easier/healthier deep-frying? (I love falafel, and would like to make my own eventually– we’re always making homemade pita bread, tzatziki, and hummus at my house… –but I have a deep-frying phobia, so falafel is something that I usually only eat at restaurants.)

    • mindyourfoods November 3, 2012 at 3:18 am #

      Hi Alison. Thank you very much for taking an interest in my blog. The reason I use sunflower oil is that sunflower oil is one of the only oils that can take the high heat. The best oil to fry in is coconut oil – but you dont want every dish to taste of coconut 🙂 (you can get an organic one without the taste). Grapeseed oil is also okay. But all other oils will be turned into bad fats if you use them for frying. I have been studying these things for the last couple of years – reading tons of books and articles about healthy living and this is one of the things I found out 🙂

      • Allison November 3, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

        Wow, thank YOU so much for taking the time to answer my question. I have not done much research on this stuff, since I usually try to avoid deep-frying altogether, but I will definitely keep your suggestions about frying oils in mind. Of the three that you mentioned, coconut oil is the only one that I keep around the house and use regularly, but I will look into buying some sunflower oil, too. Thanks again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

