My Juicy Vegan Potluck Entry: Sprouted chickpea and sprouted sunflower seed burgers with sweet potato fries

1 Nov

Thank you very much for finding your way to my blog – I hope you will like my recipe for sprouted burgers. It is a vegan alkaline dish, that is very versatile and you can change it to your liking and to match what you have in your pantry. Furthermore you will get a quick introduction to sprouting and also learn how to make tahini and linseed egg substitute.

The recipe is for 2-3 people – with enough burgers to use for lunch the next couple of days. Ideas for lunches could be wraps with cucumber, lettuce, tomatoes and some sweet chili dressing. You can also use them sliced in a sandwich with pesto and lettuce.

Excluding the sprouting time the burgers take about an hour to make. You can make the sweet potato fries and some salad while the burger mix rests in the fridge.

If you don’t have time to spouted the chickpeas and seeds – dont worry – you can use canned chickpeas and unsprouted sunflower seeds, but you will raise the nutritional value a great deal by using sprouts.

HOW TO SPROUT:

Fresh organic sprouts are the perfect food. It is highly alkaline and will energize you body. And then its cheap and very easy to do. You can use almost all kinds of seeds, beans and legumes. I will only give you a short introduction here, but until I do a more detailed blog about sprouting use the internet – it’s has a lot of info about this, so google away πŸ™‚ You are of course also very welcome to write to me for sprouting advice πŸ™‚

You can sprout in a glass with a mesh or cheese cloth over or you can buy sprouter box, sprouting bag, an automatic sprouter etc.

Most beans and peas need an overnight soaking before you put them in your glass or sprouter and rising and drain twice a day until the sprouts have grown. The glass should be place upside down so the water will run out. Depending on the seed or bean this takes 3-5 days. I only sprouted the sunflower seeds for 1Β½ day before putting the sprouts in the fridge to slow down sprouting. For the chickpeas I used a little different method – I actually soaked them for the whole 2Β½ days – changing the water and giving them a rinse 2 times a day.

For the burgers:

250 grams of dried organic chickpeas – To raise nutritional value sprout for 2-3 days

100 grams of sunflower seeds – sprout for 2-3 days

2 gloves of garlic

2 large onions

a small handful of sundried tomatoes

3 teaspoons of salt (Use only unrefined salt like himalaya salt, sea salt etc.)

2 teaspoons of hot paprika

1 teaspoons of mild paprika

2 teaspoons of dried thyme

2-3 teaspoons of tahini – Storebought or homemade.This is very easy to make: Grind sesame seeds in coffee grinder, then blend with himalaya salt, sesame oil and sunflower oil. Tahini can be use in a lot of different recipes and it is very good as a spread on a piece of bread or a crispbread.

2 teaspoons of linseed (flaxseed) “eggs” – Grind linseed and stir in water to make and egg substitute. You can use this in a lot of recipes instead of eggs.

200-300 ml of water

1 teaspoon of baking soda

200 grams of breadcrumbs, spelt wholewheat flour and oats – I used about equal parts of each

Proces the chickpeas and seeds first in a food processor, then add the rest of the ingredients except the last 2 things on the ingredients list (Baking soda and the flours). Add the water little by little – the food processor should be able to proces, but the mix should not get watery.

Combine the mix in a bowl with the rest of the ingredients and leave to rest in the fridge for about 30 mins – you can leave it longer.

Take a small handful of the burger mix and flatten it. I like my burgers fried in a pan in sunflower oil – fry for about 6-7 minutes on each side at medium heat. You can also bake them in the oven for 20 minutes at 220C/425F.

For the sweet potato fries – Turn the oven to 220 C/425F

4 sweet potatoes – peeled and cut into fries – about Β½cm thick

Sunflower oil

Salt (himalaya or seasalt)

Pepper

In a freezer bag add oil, salt, pepper and half the sweet potatoes and shake and “massage” the fries to cover in oil – repeat with the rest of the potatoes. Place on a tray and bake for about 20 minutes – the turn on the grill in the oven at bake for about 5 minutes more. The fries should be brown and crispy – but not black πŸ™‚

Serve everything with tomato salad and cucumber – ENJOY!

I hope you will try the recipe and make your own version.

Please follow my blog and feel free to share if you like it – that would be much appreciated – THANKS

Hit “Go Forward” to read about another great vegan dish from MΓ‘rcia at “Compassionate and passionate cuisine”

35 Responses to “My Juicy Vegan Potluck Entry: Sprouted chickpea and sprouted sunflower seed burgers with sweet potato fries”

  1. trueindigo November 1, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Healthiest burger and fries in the world. I bet the tastiest too!

    • mindyourfoods November 1, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      Thank you very much for your comment πŸ™‚ I hope you will try to make it and let me know how it goes πŸ™‚

      • trueindigo November 1, 2012 at 11:42 am #

        For sure I will! I love taking the time to let those chickpeas add some sprouted energy to the meal!

  2. veganmonologue November 1, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Great job!

    • mindyourfoods November 1, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I dont see the VVP buttons on you blog – are you still cooking, taking pictures and writing? πŸ™‚

      • veganmonologue November 1, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

        About 10 minutes before I left that comment I saw that, sadly, the auto-post feature failed for me again. 😦 I changed the time settings and everything…second time this happened!

      • mindyourfoods November 1, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

        It happened to me too – luckily I got up very early and checked and was able only to be 15 mins late πŸ™‚

  3. veghotpot November 1, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    This looks delicious, quick question but can you literally just sprout dried chickpeas that you buy in the supermarket? I have really got into sprouting but so far have only tried things like alfalfa seeds because they came with the sprouting jar!

    • mindyourfoods November 1, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      Hello πŸ™‚ yep – always buy organic though πŸ™‚ You should not ‘over-sprout’ chickpeas. They are done when they have a tiny tail. You should also try mung beans – they are probably the easiest thing to sprout πŸ™‚

      • veghotpot November 1, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

        I think I have mung beans in my sprouting pack so I’ll try those next as well as the chickpeas. thanks for the great advice and recipe! Very inspiring πŸ™‚

  4. shellywest November 1, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    looks so yummy! Love the in dept photos!

    • mindyourfoods November 1, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      Thank you very much for the feedback – its nice to know that people appreciate how I set it up πŸ™‚ I will keep on doing the instruction photos πŸ™‚

  5. An Unrefined Vegan November 1, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    So much great information in this post – and totally yummy eats (best part!)! Thank you for a really creative contribution to the Potluck!

    • mindyourfoods November 1, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

      Im very glad you like my blog post – thank you very for commenting πŸ™‚

  6. 40 Fit In The Mitt November 1, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Looking forward to making this! Lovely photos

  7. Food Stories November 1, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Just making my way through the VVP & wanted to say hey πŸ™‚

    • mindyourfoods November 1, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      Hello πŸ™‚ Thank you for reading my blog πŸ™‚

  8. A Tablespoon of Liz November 1, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    These look so good! I’m always on the lookout for good veggie burger recipes! I’ve never sprouted anything before, but I’ve always wanted to. I’ll have to try it when making these burgers.

  9. K-bobo @ Gormandize with A-dizzle & K-bobo November 2, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    Nice Idea, I hadn’t thought of using sprouted chickpeas in burgers before.

  10. Brittany November 2, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    BURGERS!! YES! These look amazing!

  11. Somer November 2, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    I’ve been studying more about alkaline foods, this contribution looks incredible! Thanks so much for being part of the potluck!

    • mindyourfoods November 2, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      Alkaline food is incredible πŸ™‚ You cant believe what an life-changing (life-saving even) effect it has had on my life and the life of my closest family

      • Somer November 2, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

        I have a few books and have some test strips. I’m pretty alkaline. I post a lot of pretty things on the blog, but in reality I spend my days drinking green smoothies and eating really ridiculously large salads for lunch. It’s only at dinner that I give myself a bit of flex, but yes, going alkaline cured my best friend of her horrid non stop migraines. The power of good food!

      • mindyourfoods November 3, 2012 at 3:30 am #

        Sounds great! I’m glad to hear about you friend and to know that one more person has cured themselves (probably
        also when the normal doctors have given up)

        I read you story on you blog. Im so happy for you. Its amazing what you have done and I’m glad you are doing so much to promote a plant based lifestyle. The world needs to know that you can do a lot for yourself and your health when taking the responsability for you own life instead of leaving everything up to doctors. SO THANK YOU AND KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK πŸ™‚

      • Somer November 8, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

        Yeah, my girlfriend had literally been to the emergency room twice in a week and had been at Dr. offices all month when I saw this funny you tube video discussing the benefits of alkalinity and wheat grass. I shared it with her and it literally changed her life. Amazing.

        Thanks for your props on my story too, it’s so much a part of who I am now. I’m determined to keep sharing with others and help them change their lives. One plate at a time πŸ˜‰

  12. Sophie33 November 2, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    MMMMMMMMMMMM,..A great & tasty entry fro the VVp! I must make these tasty looking vegan burgers! Yes!

  13. Allison November 2, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    This all sounds awesome! I love any kind of chickpea patties… though I’ve never tried making my own sprouted chickpeas, but it’s definitely on my list! I love sweet potato fries too… That seems like a perfect combination. : )

  14. thecrueltyfreereview November 3, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Thank you for all the wonderful information. I’ve never really thought about sporuting but it sounds so easy and a great way to add nutrition.

    • mindyourfoods November 3, 2012 at 3:23 am #

      Sprouting is great. And to watch everything grow with lovely green colors and know you are making you own very healthy food makes it even better πŸ™‚

      These burgers turned out great for me. Something veggie burgers tend to turn out a bit to lose and soft, but these are very firm but still juicy πŸ™‚

      • thecrueltyfreereview November 3, 2012 at 3:33 am #

        Sounds great! I guess I’m used to veggie burgers being mushy and falling out of the bun so I must give these a try!

      • mindyourfoods November 3, 2012 at 3:35 am #

        Let me know how it goes πŸ™‚

  15. Barb November 4, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    I’m a huge fan of chickpea burgers, although I haven’t tried using sprouted chickpeas yet… Looks like I have a recipe for it now though!

  16. annesturetucker November 6, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Great information and fabulous recipe – looks wonderful! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  17. spinachrevolution November 7, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    This looks great. I definitely want some extra fries with that. Thank you for the recipe.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Juicy Vegan Potluck Entry: Sprouted chickpea and sprouted sunflower seed burgers with sweet potato fries « mindyourfoods - November 1, 2012

    […] My Juicy Vegan Potluck Entry: Sprouted chickpea and sprouted sunflower seed burgers with sweet potat…. […]

Leave a Reply

