Virtual Vegan Potlock 2014: Edamame-Coconut Trifle with Spelt Crumble

13 Dec

PicMonkey Collage4

This year I want to get noticed! My goal in life is to help as many people as I can get happier and healthier and for that I need to “get out there”. So I asked myself a question: How can I make a dish that stands out a bit – There are so many bloggers in this fantastic event now? A DESSERT!! Most people like desserts – and healthy desserts are always a hit. But…. there will most definitely be some truly amazing desserts in the Virtuel Vegan Potlock 2014. Why not make a starter dressed like a dessert? Great idea I thought and after countless hours in my kitchen I suddenly got it right: A savoury trifle!

 But I certainly didnt start out where I ended up. For most of the time the headline for this post was: Brownie with icecream!

I tried so many different things in my efforts to make a savoury brownie with non-sweet ice cream – I also had to included citrus which is the featured ingredient for this years Potlock.

Citrus

And boy was it was hard to find out how to make it. I have spend so many hours in my kitchen the last couple of weeks. In the process I made a lot of strange things – but some very cool recipes and ideas came out of it. For example I found out how to make an omelette – without eggs. I will be blogging about that very soon. I also found out how to make a very good vegan gravy full of taste. That will also be featured in a blog post in the near future. I found out that making desserts that looks like starters and mains – and starters that look like desserts is a fun way to invent new cool recipes, so I will try to do that a lot – and of course blog about it.

After looots of attempts on brownies with icecream I suddenly had a blender full of the smoothest edemame mousse – “THIS IS IT” I thought – and I started to think about how I could use this. And this is how I ended up with a savoury trifle. I think it turned out delicious 🙂

I think this will be a good starter for NEW YEARS EVE, if you want to try something new and different this year. You can also use the mousse as a dip or spread for sandwiches. It goes very very well with toasted dark rye bread.

Edamame coconut trifle

For 4 people

For the edamame mousse

350 grams of frozen edamame beans

1/2 cup of sesame seeds

100 ml of oat cream or unsweetened soy milk

2 teaspoons of fine himalaya salt

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

1 teaspoons of crushed cumin seeds

Juice of 1,5 lemon

Boil the edamame beans in lightly salted for 15 mins. Leave to cool. When cool put everything in a high speed blender and blend until smooth. You can also use a stick blender (tastes even better if you leave it in the fridge overnight).

P1010149 P1010163 P1010182

Lime Coconut milk

1 can of organic coconut milk

Juice of a lime

a pinch of salt

Blend all the ingredients for 10-15 sec.

Spelt crumble

1 cup of pearled spelt grains

1 teaspoons himalaya salt

1 tablespoon of sunflower oil

Put the spelt in a bowl and cover with boiling water and a plate on top. Leave for 10 minutes. Heat up a pan to medium heat and roast the grains in oil and add the salt. They need to be crisp, but be careful that they don’t burn. It will take about 10 mins. Leave to cool.

P1010199P1010206

Finish the starter

Take a wine glass, martini glass or another smaller glass. Start with the mousse – half an inch (You can use a pastry bag for this), pour on a few tablespoons of the lime coconut milk and then half an inch of the spelt. Do these 3 steps one more time. You are now ready to serve.

Edamame Coconut Trifle - Starter - Virtual Vegan Potlock

Thank you for stopping by my blog – I hope we will see each other again soon. Now please continue the journey through the Virtual Vegan Potlock. The next blog is Brays of our Lives – so hit “Go Forward” and enjoy!

 go_bck-300x257go_forward-300x243

16 Responses to “Virtual Vegan Potlock 2014: Edamame-Coconut Trifle with Spelt Crumble”

  1. Teresa@sweetveg December 13, 2014 at 5:26 am #

    Wow! That is so creative. I love hearing about your process of trying to figure out what you would bring to this potluck. I hope you are still working on a savory brownie. Reminds me a little bit of a lentil walnut loaf? 🙂

    • mindyourfoods December 13, 2014 at 5:31 am #

      Thank you so much 🙂 Lentil walnut loaf could be a very good idea for a brownie. I did make one with cauliflower as a base – I almost had it with that one, but it needed at bit more work 🙂

  2. Shannon Y-I-V December 13, 2014 at 4:00 pm #

    This is so creative!! I never, would have thought to make a savory trifle…(The only one I can think of is in that episode of Friends where Rachel makes a trifle with a layer of shepherd’s pie inside by mistake). Yours has a ton of awesome ingredients in there – especially the edamame mousse, that sounds delicious!

    • mindyourfoods December 13, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

      Thank you so much 🙂 Think I missed that episode – but I suddenly fancy making a vegan sherperd’s pie 🙂

  3. Somer McCowan December 13, 2014 at 5:10 pm #

    What an interesting idea! At first I was wondering if this was in the wrong course! Haha!

  4. acookinthemaking December 13, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

    You had me at edamame mousse! What a cool idea. You definitely achieved your goal of standing out 🙂

  5. Hannah B. December 13, 2014 at 9:11 pm #

    I love this! I’m totally down for a savory trifle :). However, I am also intrigued by a savory brownie and ice cream so if you ever make that happen I’ll definitely be interested!

    • mindyourfoods December 13, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

      I will blog about it when I get it just right 😃

  6. Amy @ Parsley In My Teeth December 13, 2014 at 11:37 pm #

    Super creative! I love this!

  7. Becky December 14, 2014 at 10:27 pm #

    What a creative dish! This looks amazing. Happy VVP!

  8. Kyra December 15, 2014 at 12:28 pm #

    You have definitely become noticed by me! Wow, this is a creative appetiser, I am curious to how it tastes…this is something I am going to have to make!

    • mindyourfoods December 15, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

      That sounds good – let me know how you get along 🙂

  9. Bianca December 15, 2014 at 6:53 pm #

    What an unusual use for a trifle, but it’s so creative and it looks great!

  10. Lovlie December 17, 2014 at 11:20 pm #

    I like this trifle a lot. Very creative. I never had spelt grains before, I am gonna have to try them out in this way.

  11. Keely @ Gormandize December 27, 2014 at 7:32 am #

    An incredibly creative approach to our potluck! Well done, I wish I could taste it because I bet it is delicious. Thanks for bringing something so special along to the potluck!

Leave a comment